The Incredible Bongo Band - Boxset

Written by  | 10 March 2016

Ooh! This one is yet to land in my mitts, but how can you resist this iconic album that is credited as one of the corner stones of hip hop culture released as a series of five 7" singles?!

Michael Viner’s Incredible Bongo Band are to get the full reissue treatment this Record Store Day, as Mr Bongo release this collection of B Boy monster anthems in the stunning mirrored box set.

The box set features some of the band’s most iconic covers, including "Apache", which of course is the drum break championed by such legends as Grandmaster Flash and Kool Herc back in the Bronx block parties in the ’70s, and a track which has since left an indelible mark on hip hop, sampled by everyone from Sugarhill Gang and Run DMC to Massive Attack and Missy Elliot.

..and of course, as with most records store day releases of this nature, I'm sure this will be strictly limited.


  • 1a. Duelling Bongos
  • 1b. Let There Be Drums
  • 2a. Bongo Rock
  • 2b. Last Bongo In Belgium
  • 3a. Apache
  • 3b. The Riot
  • 4a. Bongolia
  • 4b. Kiburi
  • 5a. In-a-gadda-da-vida (part 1)
  • 5b. Wipeout
Shan Frenzie

Shan Frenzie

Australian based deejay, radio presenter for 2SER FM, record collector, and chief rocker of Hip Hop, Soul, Funk, Disco and everything inbetween.

Follow Shan Frenzie on Google+